Exploring New England: Day Four

A few Autumns ago I was wrapping up a mini road trip around New England. On day four I travelled from Hartford, Connecticut through Rhode Island, where I detoured to visit a corn maze, and finished in Boston, where an unexpected adventure awaited me that night.

I began by visiting the Mark Twain Museum, but I only looked at the outside before starting the drive to Salisbury Farm in Rhode Island.
Connecticut to Boston 030 Connecticut to Boston 035 Connecticut to Boston 042 Connecticut to Boston 051 (2) Connecticut to Boston 060 Connecticut to Boston 065 Connecticut to Boston 070 Connecticut to Boston 071 Connecticut to Boston 073 Connecticut to Boston 075 Connecticut to Boston 078 Connecticut to Boston 081Finding a corn maze open during the week had not been easy, and it was very quiet – eerily quiet in the deserted corn maze. The maze was made of the words ‘Boston Strong’, in tribute to the bombing at the Boston Marathon earlier that year.  Connecticut to Boston 093 Connecticut to Boston 099 Connecticut to Boston 100 Connecticut to Boston 102 Connecticut to Boston 110 Connecticut to Boston 115 Connecticut to Boston 119 Connecticut to Boston 120 Connecticut to Boston 121 Connecticut to Boston 127It took me some time to make my way out, and as I struggled through the ‘R’ I was forced to admit that I had overestimated my maze-routing abilities. Connecticut to Boston 147 Connecticut to Boston 021 Connecticut to Boston 132I was pleased to finally emerge from the maze exit, but I had another challenge awaiting me: driving into Boston in peak hour on day one of the World Series at Fenway Park. And so my road trip story ended after the traditional crisis and climax situation, followed by the wonderful resolution of arriving at a cosy hostel (HI Boston) and the bonus, unplanned activity of World Series Game One that night.

Leave a Reply

